Our area is popular with local residents, second-home owners and day-trippers alike. Weekends are likely to see Main Street and the surrounding area filled with shoppers drawn to the village’s charming diversity of stores, restaurants and galleries.
First known as Groat’s Corners, the village of Chatham was incorporated in 1847 as Chatham Four Corners, and received its present name in 1869. From the 1850s to the 1950s, Chatham was an important main line station on the Boston & Albany. Five railway lines converged here and more than a hundred trains arrived and departed daily.
Chatham’s landmark pendulum clock dates back to 1872 and is the only one of its kind still in the original condition. The brick building was originally home to Ocean Fire company #1 on the ground floor, with a millinery shop upstairs.
Built in 1887 during Chatham’s heyday as a railroading center. It closed in 1972 and remained empty until it reopened in 1999 as National Union Bank of Kinderhook. Depot Square
Built in 1871, its history of use includes opera house, vaudeville shows, movies, dances, military drills, roller rink and miniature golf course. 13 Main Street
Opened in 1926, it is one of the country’s few independently owned movie houses showing first-run films. 46-48 Main Street
Built in 1912, a gift to the village from the Tracy family. This outstanding building now houses police department, clerk’s office and judicial quarters. A handsome ballroom on the second floor is used for town and village court, special functions and meetings. 77 Main Street
The 1811 Inn
Chatham’s oldest building has been operated as a hotel and tavern. In 1815, it became “Groat’s Tavern” and one of its better-known patrons was former President Martin Van Buren, who frequently rode to the tavern on horseback from his Kinderhook home. Central Square
Central Square Building
Built as the Park Hotel in 1815, and later known as the Windsor Hotel, it was a favorite of such luminaries as Harry Houdini and Teddy Roosevelt. The building had various uses including: cancer sanitarium, theatre, roller rink, factory, and furniture store. Central Square
Chatham Public Library
In 1902, a red oak was planted on this site. It is now the oldest Arbor Day tree in New York. The library was completed in 1905 with a $15,000 grant secured by John Wheeler and William Howland from Andrew Carnegie. In 1908 Wheeler’s widow donated an original Tiffany window titled “Instruction.” Woodbridge Avenue
SHOPS, RESTAURANTS AND GALLERIES OPEN AND AWAITING YOUR VISIT The Chatham Area Business Alliance, a coalition of individuals, businesses and organizations, works to promote the Chatham, New York region as a vibrant, positive environment for shopping, dining, enjoying the arts and conducting business. We encourage you to visit our one-of-a-kind shops, award-winning restaurants, exquisite art galleries, theatrical venues and exciting performance spaces.